“So B. It” by Sarah Weeks

Spoiler-free, folks! Super short because I finished So B. It a while ago and did not take notes. The synopsis is as follows:

Although she lives an unconventional lifestyle with her mentally disabled mother and their doting neighbour Bernadette, Heidi has a lucky streak that has a way of pointing her in the right direction. When a mysterious word in her mother′s vocabulary begins to haunt her, Heidi′s thirst for the truth leads her on a cross-country journey in search of the secrets of her past.

I read this book years ago as a kid. I remember it being especially poignant, because I bawled my eyes out at some point. When I came across this book again, I decided to give it another go and see if it still has the same effect.

Unfortunately, it did not. It was certainly engaging at times, but I don’t remember where the big feels punch was. Maybe my expectations lead me to scrutinize the text too much. Regardless, it’s a coming of age story that I’ve probably outgrown. I don’t regret rereading it, because it gave me a glimpse of childhood again. It’s short so you could ram through it in a few days if you’re really interested, but it’s probably not worth it if you’re not a tween.

I’d give this 3 out of 5 kittens on the bus.

Leave a reply

